Gregory K. Steele QC Student Prize

The Gregory K. Steele QC Prize was founded in 2006 to honour the contributions of CCEL director Gregory K. Steele QC to the development of elder law in Canada. Mr. Steele passed away in 2017.

Every two years the Canadian Centre for Elder Law invites university students across Canada to submit entries. Submitted papers must deal with a topic related to law and aging. The winning paper is selected by a jury composed of CCEL staff members and its author is invited to present the paper during the next CCEL’s Elder Law Conference. 

The winner of the 2021-2022 Gregory K. Steele Prize is Canada and the UN Principles for the Older Person by Samuel Baxter.

The Gregory K. Steele QC Prize has been generously sponsored by Clark Wilson since 2019.

Select past winners of the prize

Anne-Isabelle Cloutier

Why a Guardianship Tribunal Is Needed In Canada. 

Read the winning paper (in French)
Read the summary in English

Helene Love

Is the law of evidence ready for the aging population?

Maria Sokolova

Elderly Immigrants and Equality Rights: Never the Twain Shall Meet?