Gregory K. Steele QC Student Prize

The Gregory K. Steele QC Prize was founded in 2006 to honour the contributions of CCEL director Gregory K. Steele QC to the development of elder law in Canada. Mr. Steele passed away in 2017.

Every two years the Canadian Centre for Elder Law invites university students across Canada to submit entries. Submitted papers must deal with a topic related to law and aging. The winning paper is selected by a jury composed of CCEL staff members and its author is invited to present the paper during the next CCEL’s Elder Law Conference. 

The 2021 edition of the Gregory K. Steele Prize is open!

Email your entries to Krista James, National Director:
Deadline: July 31, 2021
The 2021 Steele Prize is once again generously sponsored by Clark Wilson LLP.



2019 winner

The 2019 prize was awarded on June 12, 2019, to Anne-Isabelle Cloutier, LLB Candidate – Faculty of Law, McGill University, Montreal, for her paper Why a Guardianship Tribunal Is Needed In Canada. 

Read the winning paper (in French)
Read the summary in English

The 2019 prize has been generously sponsored by Clark Wilson LLP.


2017 prize winner

The 2017 prize winner was Helene Love — SJD Candidate, University of Toronto, Faculty of Law, Toronto. Read Helene’s paper: Is the law of evidence ready for the aging population?

Website by: Usable Web Designs